Agnostic Atheism

I have been browsing blogs about Atheism these days. Few blogs I browsed recently are:

Oh my GAWD!! I see so many Hindu Atheists blogs and posts in which the authors just blame religion for everything. No religion stops you from thinking. In fact a religion as such never enforces all those rituals and customs; especially in Hindu religion. Hindu has infinite number of those customs and rituals. But how many people are following the customs and rituals these days? But they are still Hindus and would like to call themselves so..

Its the problem with the people who preach religion. Not the religion itself. It is those preachers who do not know the religion & its concepts completely. So, they stop you from questioning and thinking. If you do care, then go in search of the truth. Instead how can you just say religion is corrupt? Only the preachers are corrupt.

Many people follow things blindly without knowing the reasons. But that does not mean that there are no reasons. The whole problem is the reasons are lost. We do not know where to find them. If you trust people around – who’s aim is not to know truth but to gain power & control & satisfy their desires, they are going to misguide you. And their EGO is never going to let them say that they DONT KNOW the reasons. Instead they are going to blabber some nonsense or induce more FEAR to keep you shut. If you want to know truth, then search and find it. Instead you can’t say there is no TRUTH.

As I have written before, I can see that many of us are loosing respect for the religion. I want to blame only those people who abuse religion to satisfy their selfish ego. Whats wrong with religion? Tradition and customs are for disciplining men and Religion is for soul satisfaction which you cant achieve if you dont have discipline.

I see in all these blogs and posts the authors are really rational, critical and bold. I really enjoy reading their intellectual minds. But I wonder how they miss what I see. Its not religion which has to be blamed. Its the people who are abusing it in the name of preaching it.

Why are you guys writing like this? Don’t you see the difference? Or is this one of your marketing strategy? “Atheist” is your tag for attracting more visitors, huh?


An Agnostic Theist

11 comments

  1. Barbro · · Reply

    hi Arthy and thank you so much for appreciated response of 4 steps.

    …”Its not religion which has to be blamed. Its the people who are abusing it in the name of preaching it.”…

    The religion in itself is pure, i agree. There will always be people who use religion for own winning. That’s the world and people in it. It’s an old saying, change yourself all the time and let go off what others do because insight has to come from within. with regards

    1. Hi Barbro,
      Np.. Its my pleasure appreciating your picture.. it was really great!
      Hey! btw, thanks for those English translation! 🙂

      ” change yourself all the time and let go off what others do because insight has to come from within”
      perfect saying! It is ‘in’sight! so yes! it has to come from inside oneself… 🙂
      Trusting/depending on outside is never going to help…

  2. Barbro · · Reply

    …”Trusting/depending on outside is never going to help”…

    exact, not when it comes to religion. Otherwise to rub/mingle with people give alot of experience and it is also fun.

    1. yeah! of course indeed! 🙂

  3. Perhaps, too late to comment on this .. but I must pitch in.

    I do not get it when you say there is a difference between ‘religion’ and ‘people who preach the religion’. I see ‘religion’ more as a product of such people. They (the preachers, prophets, saints, swamis et al) make the stories, they set the rules, they spread ignorance, they kill curiosity and doubt, they command the masses, they create the universe out of thin air and then they go on claim the highest throne in social hierarchy with a blatant showoff of their presumptuous austerity.

    A very sublime wisdom and beautiful philosophy is scattered across various religious scriptures – sometimes directly, sometimes in the form allegories –
    like in buddhist philospophy or in parts of Bhagwad Gita. But by and large, many religious scriptures do not teach any moral. Besides, religion practiced en masse is not about this philosophy – for masses, it’s about queuing up for tirupati darshan, it’s about massive waste of money and manpower in ornate rituals, it’s about maintaining caste structure, it’s about killing people in the name of jihad, it’s about hunting for poor tribal to spread Christianity.

    If there is something we atheists, rationalists, agnostics are really disapproved of, it is this dogmatic unqualified faith which kills healthy doubt and sows the seeds of differences in the society.

    Religion may have been the need of the time when it originated and prospered. Now though the need is to evolve beyond religion and dogma.

    1. “I see ‘religion’ more as a product of such people.”
      I strongly deny this. Religion is not a product of anyone. Maybe you derived at this conclusion by a straight comparison of Science and Religion and concluded that Science is a product of scientists and religion is a product of priests. BUT IT IS NOT SO. Religion has its existence beyond the existence of the so-called-priests ‘today’. I wish I could give you some factual references to my claims. But, I am not able to since I am not really that scholarly person yet . That does not mean that there are no such factual references. Now a days, I really want to learn more just to prove my claims. I have been lazy to understand the my family history. But if someone is going to call my mom names, then do you think I will still be lazy? I feel like that when I read posts which blames religion and not those who preaches religion.

      “They (the preachers, prophets, saints, swamis et al) make the stories, they set the rules, they spread ignorance, they kill curiosity and doubt…. ……………presumptuous austerity.”
      I completely agree with you. In this sense, I join together with you guys in fighting against those who spread ignorance.
      But again, I really don’t identify RELIGION with these craps.

      “But by and large, many religious scriptures do not teach any moral”
      I would like to ask you, how many religious scriptures have you read? And how many of those are the original scriptures and tried to understand them by yourself? how many are the explanatory notes of the so-called-priests? On what basis have you concluded like this? or is this just your blind belief?

      “Besides, religion practiced en masse is not about this philosophy – for masses, it’s about queuing up for tirupati darshan, it’s about massive was…”
      Here again I agree with you completely. The mass behavior today is just without any logical thinking or reasoning. People are blinded by their desires, false beliefs, their problems, so on. But does that mean that the mass behavior is the ‘STANDARD’? I hope you do remember that a whole mass of people believed that EARTH was FLAT and threw stones at the scientist who said EARTH is ROUND.

      “If there is something we atheists, rationalists, agnostics are really disapproved of, it is this dogmatic unqualified faith which kills healthy doubt and sows the seeds of differences in the society.”
      Though I call myself as a ‘theist’ I would like to include myself in the above the list. I really mean it. I do disapprove what you disapprove. But I don’t believe what you believe about religion.

      “Now though the need is to evolve beyond religion and dogma.”
      I believe that now is the real need for the “REAL RELIGION” to sprout and ignite the knowledge & kill ignorance in masses.

      1. I guess we don’t differ much other than our views on religion itself. I used to hold this opinion that religion is pristine pure corrupted by people who practice it. Later I realized that religion itself is loose term that usually connects all sorts rituals to underlying myths along with some scattered pieces of philosophical gems.

        Whether it’s old or new testament, it is Q’uran or mahabharatha or other hindu mythologies – they are full of creepy stories which are not considered moral any more. But when we encounter any such thing, we escape judging them by saying they are allegories or they are symbolic. The fact is though, they adhere to the morality of the era in which these stories are written. Today that morality is outdated by a mile. So sharing a wife between five brothers is absolutely immoral and creepy today, but it may have been acceptable at the time when the story originated. Nobody derives any moral from that story any more – because morality itself has evolved over the period of time and has very little to do with religion in any way.

        I can keep going like this, but i need to put a fullstop now 🙂

        btw.. u hv a nice blog and good that you find time to regularly update it. I should keep visiting occasionally.

  4. I have not yet got that realization you are talking about… 🙂

    But anyways, maybe I am a bit closed with respect to questioning certain deep beliefs like Mahabharata.. I know that it sounds very much insane when we say that a woman was shared by 5 brothers and they were all really pure. But still, I never wanted to question that ‘authority’..

    Even if I question those epics, then again, I would not questioning religion as such. Because, for me, religion is not just bed time story tales, or epics or just few set of people who claim the authority for the religion. It is something beyond the rituals, the idols which we worship today, the temples, the sages, the saints, the festivals, vaasthu, astrology, Ganges, cow dung & urine, etc., etc.,

    So, I may not realize what you have realized already! 😉

    And.. thanks for your comment about my blog! 🙂

  5. […] Cho said before leaving. He was just insisting the same thing I have been telling in my posts on Atheism. I see many people just comment / blame / criticize ‘Hinduism’ (and also other […]

  6. coffeebeans76 · · Reply

    hmm…interesting! more interesting is the fact that Arthy…your idea about religion reminds me of old black and white heroins. No offence please! I wish Aniket comes back to see the chain. I fully agree with aniket views. He has given a classic example of morality evolution.

    Every existence has an origin and same goes with religion. We are its origin. Religion as you say exists to discipline society. But some anti socials, in the name of religion, have successfully propagated several myths, probably to gain dominance in social strata or for their personal gratification. The mix has become so lethal that it still affects our generation in the form of superstition. Some of us have the rationale to understand scientific aspect of religion (example: getting together for a festival has a good health aspect) while others have decided to live happily in ignorance (happy in getting converted because it gives them easy bread, butter, and shelter; happy in participating in riots because it given them easy bread, butter, and shelter from Marathu manoos leader; ah…and the list goes on)

    1. “old black and white heroins..”
      🙂 Hmm.. well, I dont mind..

      If you read carefully, you can see that I am not for the false superstitions or the fake things spread by morons! But the whole point is, none of us actually know to identify false from true. Because we do not know what actually is our religion. We DO NOT KNOW what it is first of all.

      If you see, I agree with your (and Aniket’s) views in all points but for one thing: I am not ready to call the religion itself as corrupt.

      I would like bring an analogy here to re-iterate my stand again.
      Man discovered fire. Since then, there has been lots of advancements and we got civilized after that. We cannot be as we are now if that fire was not discovered by someone.

      This same fire has led to the destruction of so many lives till date. But, do we abandon fire? Can we just go about living without fire?

      In this case it is very easy to educate people how NOT to use fire and how to handle it with care so that it does not lead to self-destruction. But understanding the ‘real’ religion and the ‘true’ concepts behind is not that simple. And, we cannot educate because, the bad effects / ill effects of abusing religion is not clearly known/defined yet.
      And there are millions and millions of people who do not even realize that such false believes they hold can actually harm them. They are too ignorant and too adamant to be educated!

      So, it is indeed extremely difficult to have a firm hold in religion and still talk about how it can be abused / harm people. I can understand that the young minds (hey! I am not old, btw 😉 ) of today want to simplify the problem by totally abandoning the religion itself – without spending much time and energy in knowing what the actual religion WAS and what was actually said.

      It is easy to say that religion itself is corrupt and one should not follow any religion rather than complicating the situation by researching on the true & false religions. And of course, these days religion is not something as indispensable as FIRE (my analogy) and so, the over-simplified solution works out for many!

Leave a Reply

