What you should know about domain registration!

There is yet another learning through the recent craziness in moving to WP.org and back to WP.com again..Yea.. its about the domain name!

I registered a domain name (arthywho.com) when I purchased my web-hosting account with hostgator.com. As usual, I never went through the terms and conditions to the fullest and happily purchased the domain and account.

Registering domain names!

Registering domain names!

And after I had this great realization that wordpress.com was better suited for my needs, I decided to cancel my hosting and get the refund of the charges since it was within the agreed 45 days trial period. And, when I raised a request for the same, it was then I was told that I cannot cancel my domain registration!

Domain names can’t be canceled within 1 yr of their purchase!
Well.. Since I never read the terms and conditions, I wasn’t aware of that before! So, I learnt that I can’t do anything about those 15$ I spent for domain registration! I still don’t have any idea why it is 15$ with hostgator when most other people do it for 5$! But whatever it is, you can’t get back the money you paid for domain name registration!

Domain names can’t be transferred as well!
There is a catch here! Most of the hosting companies say that you can transfer the domain name to us and bla bla! Well yes! You can! But when you are going to transfer, the period of validity is extended to one more year! That is, if I wanted to transfer my domain name registration from hostgator to some other company, then I have to keep that domain name for one more year and of course, pay for it as well! 😉

Domain name management??
What I don’t understand here is that the hostgator provides me with a domain management console where I can change my domain name. Isn’t domain name changing equivalent to un-registering the domain and registering a new one? How do they allow that alone? Whatever!

Basically, I lost 15$ and the domain name arthywho.com is locked for an year under my name! :S
So, do some careful thinking before you register a domain name!

3 comments

  1. Natali Valari · · Reply

    Hey,

    I really loved some of your blog posts.I also purchased a domain from Bigrock.in and they offered me Crazy discounts on Domain Registration & Website Hosting. 🙂
    Also I used one of the coupons “BIG22” and got additional 22% Discount..You should actually try them..:)

    -Natali

    1. Thanks Natali! Will definitely keep Bigrock in mind next time for domain reg or hosting! Thx! 🙂

  2. This piece of writing will help the internet users for creating
    new webpage or even a weblog from start to end.

Leave a Reply

