Power of Music!

Have you ever realized the power of music?

It was not until I got affected by Jaundice I did not realize the value of food! I was affected by Jaundice so much that I was completely deprived of any food other than plain rice (without salt!!!) and watery butter-milk (it was more of water and did not have any taste! 😦 ). I lived on such a bland diet for almost 3/4 months which really made me realize how important the food is (and of course health!)! It was after that I never wasted any food and ate almost anything that my mom cooked without complaining about taste! (Btw, my mom always cooked and cooks tasty food! It was me who was picky and choosy and refused (the honor!) to eat many of her tasty dishes! But later my mom lost her energy & health and stopped cooking lot of varieties as she did before.. When I gained interest – she lost her’s! That’s another story! And may be that’s why they say “Make Hay While Sun Shines!” 😉 )

What does this food starvation story has anything to do with the power of music?

Well.. Just like the deprivation of good food for a while made me realize its importance, I realized the power & influence of music in my life when I got deprived of my normal dosage of good music some time back!

For almost more than a week, I did not listen to any ‘good’ music! (I am consciously using this ‘good’ music as a relative term here. Because for some –  any sound – including the horn of vehicles on road or cry of a baby or sound of the wind might be a music! But, to me that’s not the case! I guess it will take more time for me to reach that stage where even silence becomes a music! )

Actually I was too busy to even realize this and I did not notice how my mood was constantly deteriorating and did not show any sign of improvement! I was flooded with negative feelings and didn’t realize how bad I was behaving to everyone around! Then suddenly I happened to listen to one of my favorite sitar music by Pt. Ravi Shankar – Woooow!!! What an instant transformation in my state of mind. I could literally feel the cluttering in my mind melting away and started to feel calm & peace! It was then I realized the power of music and how indispensable it is, in my life!

The same feeling was very well portrayed in the movie – “The Shawshank Redemption” when Andy played that opera of Mozart in the jail. When the music was played within those rock-solid walls of Shawshank, it was as though those few moments of every prisoner locked up there was frozen in complete bliss and they felt real freedom for those few moments at-least!

In the words of Red – the narrator in the movie –
“I have no idea to this day what those two Italian ladies were singing about. Truth is, I don’t want to know. Some things are best left unsaid. I’d like to think they were singing about something so beautiful, it can’t be expressed in words, and makes your heart ache because of it. I tell you, those voices soared higher and farther than anybody in a gray place dares to dream. It was like some beautiful bird flapped into our drab little cage and made those walls dissolve away, and for the briefest of moments, every last man in Shawshank felt free.”

As Andy would say to his fellows after the period in hole, it is indeed true that “music talks to your soul”! It actually has the power to modify your state of mind and hence also your behavior! It molds/mends one’s attitude towards life! Really – The power of music cannot be expressed in words! You gotta experience it! 😉

So… from that time onwards, I make sure that I allocate some time to listen to music or at least do my mundane routine work with the head phones on! How much ever busy I am, I don’t forget to switch on my head phones and listen to some nice Sitar or Santoor or some nice instrumental now. As usual, my interests keep changing and the so-called favorite music bores me after a while. But I just keep switching the instruments and/or the players – the idea is, I need my dose of ‘good’ music which soothes my mind and helps me remain sane!

Uploading one of my Santoor favorites by Pt. Shiv Kumar Sharma – dedicated to the realization I had! 🙂 – Click here to download.

Have you ever experienced such wonderful moments of listening to good music after a long time? How did you feel about it that time?

One comment

  1. Hehe I enjoyed watching that little clip of Shawshank Redemption…I agree with everything you said. If you search, you can always find songs that suit your mood! When I feel angry, sometimes putting on an angry song is all I need and when the song is finished I feel better, because I feel like whoever was singing, expressed my feelings through the power of their voice – kinda like I step into their shoes temporarily and their voice is mine 🙂 The same goes for all other moods, it can change my mood for pretty regular and uninteresting, to incredibly energetic and all I want to do is smile and be surrounded by people and do something with my life! Thats it! Music gives me motivation to live, sometimes!! It’s power is endless 😉

Leave a Reply

